About the Mission

The Kenya High Commission in Pretoria, was opened in 1996. It seeks to promote, project and protect Kenya’s interests and image in the countries of accreditation – South Africa, the Kingdom of Lesotho, and the Kingdom of Swaziland, including forging mutually beneficial partnerships and networks with these countries. It seeks to be a world class diplomatic Mission providing excellent services to our clients in the pursuit of Kenya’s national interest within the countries of accreditation.

In tandem with the Mission of the parent institution – the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Trade of the Republic of Kenya – the High Commission seeks to pursue the interests and values of the Kenyan people through effective diplomatic engagement and to deepen and expand existing relations between Kenya and the countries of accreditation.

The Mission also covers the functions of the Africa Union specialized agencies based in South Africa namely: Pan African Parliament, NEPAD, Africa Peer Review Mechanism (APRM), Africa World Heritage Fund (AWHF) and Africa Risk Capacity (ARC). The Mission also follows up the activities of the Indian Ocean Rim Association for Regional Cooperation (IOR-ARC) through participation in the working group of the Heads of Missions which consists of Heads of Diplomatic Missions of IORA members based in South Africa.

Posted in The Mission